Rock Me Mama Like a Wagon Wheel ….

In June, my daughter, Evelyn, and I went to a girl scout encampment at Greenbriar State Park. At the end of the day, there was a campfire and the resident naturalist, Beth, played her guitar and sang folk ballads. Her voice was beautiful and clear and she told stories of the Appalachian mountains in between songs. We learned a bit of the history and hardships of the people who sang the songs.

The songs she chose were in chronological order, beginning with “Wayfaring Stranger”, a folk song from the 1800’s. The last song she sang was “Wagon Wheel”. As soon as she began singing, I felt the connection of the past with the present, how we are all traveling through this life, at different times but with essentially the same needs and dreams. The old and the new didn’t seem so far apart when we could share the same songs.  Suddenly, I was stirred  to create my own song so I would remember the emotional bond of the evening. Since I don’t write songs, I designed a quilt. So this quilt is made in honor of my forebears in Appalachia. It’s called “Wagon Wheel”.

Image

The quilt and pattern are available in my Etsy shop, here.

7 thoughts on “Rock Me Mama Like a Wagon Wheel ….

  1. Dee July 16, 2013 / 2:03 pm

    What an awesome story! How fun to have a beautiful reminder of a happy time spent with your daughter!

  2. Bleubeard and Elizabeth July 16, 2013 / 6:40 pm

    What a lovely quilt. And the back story is quite appealing, too. Thank you for joining T Stands For Tuesday today.

  3. Halle G July 16, 2013 / 8:19 pm

    Love the quilt. Happy Tuesday!

    • jhaney July 23, 2013 / 2:12 pm

      It’s great to meet bloggers who are almost neighbors !

  4. Spyder July 17, 2013 / 10:30 am

    I always think of chocolate when I see wagon wheels, lovely quilt

    If it askes again for a password I’ll have to give up!

    • jhaney July 23, 2013 / 2:11 pm

      Sorry about the password- I don’t know why it is doing that.

Leave a comment