We Interrupt the Regularly Scheduled Program to Bring You This Special Announcement

A couple of dog years ago, hubby and I built a house. It was an exhausting, mostly unpleasant ordeal, but I experienced a few epiphanies and I will share one with you.

One day when we were almost ready to move in, it occurred to me that we had no mailbox and no house number. I called the post office assuming that obtaining a mailbox would be some lengthy bureaucratic paperwork deal involving background checks and social security numbers.

They told me to make up a number between the ones our neighbors had and pound a box in the ground. That was it! I couldn’t believe it was possible. We followed the directions, and the next day there was junk mail in our box! Soon there was junk mail with our address on it! We had, in a few minutes of decision, marked the world with a location that would be there for maybe hundreds of years!  The power made me dizzy!

So, years later, I remembered that moment. The success of that creation gave me the courage to create again. Maryland Quilter was born! I don’t know how lasting my little company will be, but today it celebrates its 150th Etsy sale!

So here is a photo of the original mailbox which still stands in the inaugural location:

Image

Here is the first Maryland Quilter pattern, written April 4, 2012. It remains a best seller.

Image

The Ocean Waves  pattern and quilt are available at Maryland Quilter.

8 thoughts on “We Interrupt the Regularly Scheduled Program to Bring You This Special Announcement

  1. cwtchbugs July 9, 2013 / 6:12 pm

    Love the quilt and the story! That really made me smile:) Congrats on your 150th Sale and may there be many, many more. x

    • jhaney July 10, 2013 / 8:26 am

      Thanks, Kim, for the encouragement!

  2. The Sassy Quilter July 9, 2013 / 6:13 pm

    Who knew it was that easy and it cracks me up how quick the junk mail found you!

    • jhaney July 10, 2013 / 8:29 am

      We received junk mail for weeks before we officially moved in and changed address:)

  3. Quilterliz July 10, 2013 / 2:31 am

    G’day Jamie. Congratulations on reaching the 150th sale. That is just fabulous. Love the story, the mailbox and of course the quilt. Take care. Liz…

    • jhaney July 10, 2013 / 8:29 am

      Thanks, Liz. Hope you are doing well, you were in my prayers this morning.

  4. TheButterflyQuilter July 10, 2013 / 4:47 pm

    I have to laugh because when we moved to this rural part of Maine they told us the same but later the more people moved in they changed out address! Lovely quilt!

  5. Lorri July 10, 2013 / 5:57 pm

    That’s too funny! Congratulations on your 150th sale! That’s a goal I’m working (working hard) toward.

Leave a Reply

