Giving Control, Gaining Creativity

Quilting can be a solitary craft. Most days, it’s me and my sewing room. I choose the design, the fabrics and the process. Sometimes, though, I get a custom order. These are exciting and a bit scary. I have to let someone else make the choices of color, size, and design. I have to listen to them carefully, try to see their vision for a quilt that doesn’t exist yet. I get all nervous.

After the custom quilt is done, every time without fail, I am a bit changed and the quilts I design next are better. It’s like I keep a bit of that new vision like a little extra spice to add to my next project.

Here is a custom version of my Summer Stars Quilt. The changes my friend suggested to make the quilt unique for her were excellent.

DSCF5681

2 thoughts on “Giving Control, Gaining Creativity

  1. Kaja July 8, 2014 / 10:10 am

    I love the colours here – it’s really beautiful. I think making for someone else in that way is the scariest thing going!

  2. Liz Bellette July 9, 2014 / 6:11 am

    G’day Jamie. I applaud you for doing custom quilts. Some years ago I was asked to make a quilt for a friend and I agonised over it and all throughout the process I was in a state of constant worry. I also had serious sewing machine trouble quarter of the way through and that didn’t help one bit. I did get the quilt finished on a borrowed machine and my friend really did love it. She passed away from cancer a year ago and I am very glad I accepted the challenge. I have since made bags and dolls and teddies and quite a few cot quilts when someone has asked and it doesn’t faze me, but boy, did I have nightmares over that double bed quilt. I love your one, by the way. Take care. Liz….

Leave a Reply

