Don’t Forget to Look at the Stars

In warm weather I linger outside at night and look at the stars. In winter it is often so cold and cloudy my thoughts are: get inside and get the lights on. The problem is I’m such a creature of habit that after months of winter, I forget to start looking up at the sky. So I’m making myself a few reminders during the cold season, so I’ll remember to stop and admire the night sky when it gets warm. Of course, I’m a quilter, so my reminders are written in fabric.

Summer Stars Baby Quilt pattern:

Image

The quilt is already sold, but the pattern is available in the shop here

4 thoughts on “Don’t Forget to Look at the Stars

  1. Liz Bellette February 25, 2014 / 3:13 pm

    G’day Jamie. That is a gorgeous quilt. The colours you have used really make it. It is nice to go out of a night and look at the stars. I went out just the other night to water a few pot plants that I had forgotten through the day and happened to look skyward. The stars were amazing. It was a very warm night here, the sky was clear and it was a wonderful sight. Take care. Liz…

  2. Joanie February 26, 2014 / 9:28 am

    Lovely quilt and congrats on the sell! I now have been officially prompted to go check out the winter night sky this evening! Nature can really talk to us can’t it? Thank you for coming by my blog to comment on the baseball t-shirt quilt and the Modern Valentine’s Day quilt. 🙂

  3. Liz Bellette February 27, 2014 / 10:38 pm

    G’day Jamie. Thanks for commenting on my blog. The embroidery on the small bag was all done by hand. I haven’t used my embroidery machine for a while. I spent all that money on it and it just sits there. Maybe I will put it use at some stage. !!! I am a huge fan of hand embroidery. I am doing a quilt at the moment with 9 embroidered blocks on it. Have 4 blocks to do and will then start putting it all together. Take care. Liz…

    • jhaney February 28, 2014 / 6:26 am

      I really love the hand embroidery you did. A machine will never compare. It’s fun to have both options available, though:) I hope you post your blocks so I can see them:)

Leave a Reply

