Killing Many Birds with One Stone

Have you ever read Cheaper by the Dozen? Not the movie, but the book. I love it because the father, Mr. Gilbreth, was obsessed with efficiency. He had all kinds of crazy schemes to use time better. The kids learned a foreign language from phonograph records played while they were brushing their teeth . He did motion studies on everyday tasks, trying to eliminate unnecessary movements.  Even though the dad was hilariously over the top in his efforts, his way of thinking resonates with me. I am constantly trying to streamline my life, my work, my schedule.

The motto for all my quilt patterns is:
Every step in this quilt was planned to create the most beautiful quilt possible in the most efficient way possible. There are numbered steps and photographs to guide you.

I’m really excited to share my newest patternDSCF3748 with you because it excels in efficiency!  Mr. Gilbreth would have been impressed.

DSCF3752The Radical T-Shirt Quilt is so efficient because the three layers of the quilt, the back, the batting and the top is layered first, then the shirts are placed overtop.

When the shirts are sewn to the quilt, the quilt is also being quilted, saving so much time!  Another efficiency added to the pattern is the binding. The binding is the backing of the quilt folded to the front. This gives a nice finished edge and contrast on the front of the quilt without having to cut and sew binding strips.

As icing on cake, this quilt reuses loved t-shirts and provides a useful way to remember a happy season in your life. This quilt is soooo satisfying!

You can make your own radical T-shirt quilt with the pattern available in my shop, here.

DSCF3774-001

5 thoughts on “Killing Many Birds with One Stone

  1. Allison August 6, 2013 / 11:04 am

    Looks wonderful! I have two tshirt quilts my grandmother made for me (one from highschool and one from college), they are such a good way to preserve those memories.

  2. Quilterliz August 7, 2013 / 2:36 am

    G’day Jamie. Fabulous quilt, so easy to do. Looks wonderful. I have used the idea of bringing the binding from the back to the front, it really saves so much time and always looks good. Take care. Liz…

  3. Michelle August 7, 2013 / 10:30 am

    Love the quilt! I have made two tee shirt quilts and love it! I love yours too.

  4. Michelle August 13, 2013 / 5:08 pm

    I think the craziest of his ideas was having everyone’s tonsils out at the same time! 🙂

    • jhaney August 13, 2013 / 5:50 pm

      You’re right! I forgot about that one. haha

Leave a Reply

