Why Do Pinwheels Make Me Think of the 4th of July?

Isn’t it weird the way your mind  makes seasonal connections that you don’t consciously recognize? Like red and green say Christmas to me except in the summer when they say watermelon. Cotton candy brings a carnival to mind in summer, chapstick in winter. Black says your in mourning unless it’s fall, then it says Halloween. For some seasonal reason I’m not quite aware of,  pinwheels say 4th of July to me.

So I made an Independence Day pinwheel quilt:

Image

The pattern and mini quilt or table topper is available in my Etsy shop.

3 thoughts on “Why Do Pinwheels Make Me Think of the 4th of July?

  1. Quilterliz June 25, 2013 / 5:31 pm

    G’day Jamie. That is jus gorgeous as are the other quilts you have made recently. I haven’t been following the blogs of late. Haven’t been on the computer much at all to tell the truth, but I have just looked at all of your work and of course I just love it. Well done. Take care. Liz…

  2. Sara June 25, 2013 / 10:49 pm

    Love the pinwheel!! Very cute:)

Leave a Reply

