How to Grow a Mini Quilt

Last week I spent the entire time designing and sewing mini quilts. It was so much fun because I could explore new ideas without committing to a large project. It also felt very productive because I was able to finish so many quilts in a short time. It was so much fun, I thought I’d do it again this week. But now it feels kinda like that second piece of cake– still good but not as good as I wanted  it to be.

So I couldn’t resist growing my latest  mini quilt.  This one has flowers, because it’s spring and flowers are everywhere. They’ve invaded my subconscious and all my design ideas have flowers in  them. It also has a bee, because all the spring flowers have bees on them.

I’m not finished but here is the bee to tantalize you:

DSCF2986

This  is a detail from another mini quilt I made this week, called “Rebecca and Jake”. I named it after my teenage daughter, Rebecca, because she said it looked like her:

DSCF2975

And how do you grow a mini quilt? You add borders, which I did, and I’ll show you next post how it turned out. As usual, the quilts and patterns are available in my shop:)

 

One thought on “How to Grow a Mini Quilt

  1. quilterliz May 3, 2013 / 11:37 pm

    G’day Jamie. As I have said before, you are one very clever woman. Keep up the great work. Take care. Liz…x

Leave a Reply

