I’m Caving in to Modern Quilt Pressure

I finally decided to do it. Everyone else has either done or is doing it. I’m one of the last holdouts. How can I say I’m part of the group if I don’t do it? Of course you know what I’m talking about. I’m the last modern quilter to make a white quilt with small patches of bright colors.

I have so far resisted because I’m afraid of white. With 6 kids and a golden retriever, we have never bought anything near to white. White kitchen cabinets– are you crazy!! White upholstery? Never. I made a white wedding quilt for a client and spent the whole day before I started sewing obsessively cleaning every particle of the sewing room.

But it is time. The kids are mostly grown, the dog is banned from the sewing room. I think I can do this.  The quilt will be white with splashes of color. I will design it on my own terms, which means minimal piecing, lots of raw edge appliques, some frayed seams. I’m not sure how it will turn out, mixing the pure white patchwork precision with my happy-go-lucky style.

Here is the very first draft of the design. It has triangles for the splashes of color:

Image

The kids say I need more friends, so I’m linking this post to a really fun design wall weekend linky party by an amazingly talented artist, Christina Erickson. Click here to check out her site.

4 thoughts on “I’m Caving in to Modern Quilt Pressure

  1. cwtchbugs April 7, 2013 / 2:13 pm

    I bet it’s going to be gorgeous…be brave..lol. Can’t wait to see how it turns out 🙂
    Kim

  2. Ilene Atkins April 7, 2013 / 5:08 pm

    “Be brave” that’s for sure! I am sure you will make a beautiful white quilt, and will love it. I know what you mean about it not staying white for long, though. You will protect it with your life, I am sure.

  3. Christina Fairley Erickson April 7, 2013 / 9:57 pm

    Hi, Jamie… I’m looking forward to see this progress. I sure understand about the fear of doing a quilt with large white places (I also have kids & dogs in my life!) Then again, most of my quilts are for the wall, rather than the bed. Thanks for linking up at Fiber Artist Journey. I’m happy to be new friends! Christina

  4. Pomegranate Quilts April 9, 2013 / 2:05 pm

    I love that square section that looks like a spider web block.
    Go you! for spreading your wings and going on a quilt adventure!

Leave a Reply

