How Many Toes Does an Elephant Have?

I read whenever I’m not quilting. I have 6 children, most of them grown. Ergo.. I have read billions of children’s books. The kids and I have examined thousands of illustrations in the books and I have come to this conclusion. There are unspoken rules for drawing animal illustrations. So, you can have a neon pink pig with false eyelashes and a full set of clothes, but if her tail is not curly, people notice. Chickens can look like anything, but they have to have wings. I could go on and on.
Anyway, I am designing an elephant quilt so of course, I have to have the correct number of toes. Do you know there is no clear answer on the number of toes an elephant has?  I had to take the most often given answer, which is 4 toes on the front feet, 3 on the back. This quilt design is getting more and more complicated.

Here is a photo of where I am in the design process:

Image

Turns out, the toes weren’t the hardest part. What does the water squirting from an elephant’s trunk really look like? And how do you translate that into fabric? Hopefully, I can solve these problems today and I’ll have the finished quilt to show you over the weekend.

2 thoughts on “How Many Toes Does an Elephant Have?

  1. quilterliz March 23, 2013 / 10:38 pm

    G’day Jamie. I do look forward to seeing your elephant. Take care. Liz…

  2. Linda :) March 26, 2013 / 7:29 pm

    Love your elephant! The finished quilt is darling! As are all of your items in your awesome etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

