Started with a House, Ended with a Castle

My trip to the southwest over, my imagination turned in an entirely different direction. You see, in quilting my passion never strays far from applique. I love the endless possibilities of expression from cutting pieces and sewing them into pictures.

The latest project began with a beautiful yard of fabric from Free Spirit. called Pretty Little Things by Dena. It’s a forest of trees in fanciful colors. My initial plan was to make houses in the woods. Unfortunately, all my houses were too pedestrian for the enchanted forest of the fabric. I even tried fairy houses which turned out really cool but didn’t fit. Finally I realized the only house suitable for an enchanted forest was a castle.

So here is Princess Evelyn’s Castle Quilt:

Image

I wrote the pattern, too, and it has over 30 applique pieces. Both the quilt and pattern are available in my Etsy shop.

Image

 

4 thoughts on “Started with a House, Ended with a Castle

  1. quilterliz March 8, 2013 / 11:28 pm

    G’day Jamie. That looks just gorgeous. Thanks also Jamie for your lovely words of encouragement on my on going worry with the breast cancer. I appreciate it. Take care. Liz…xx

  2. quilterliz March 8, 2013 / 11:31 pm

    Also meant to tell you that I love your web page. It looks fabulous. Keep up the good work. Take care. Liz…xx

  3. WaYnE March 11, 2013 / 6:08 pm

    This is just Too Cute. .. … ….

  4. Martha Danielson March 11, 2013 / 8:57 pm

    Oh Jamie, I am SOOO impressed with your talent, your hard work, your public appeal, your moxie. I could go on, feel like a mother or grandmother, but you girl are awesome. I was just going to email you from Etsy , but then I thought I should check out your blog, so here I am. You are special.
    I am trying my hand at patterns; it is a lot of work. I am trying so hard to gain the tech skills I need to do all this. Heck, I don’t even have a smart phone.
    Again, I am proud to know you.
    Marty Danielson

Leave a Reply

