Still Obsessing Over Alexander Henry’s Fulham Road

I’m not usually an obsessive person. Usually my problem is the opposite– I move from idea to idea randomly creating whatever quilt the fabric inspires me to create. This can be frustrating to the rational side of me which tells me find a system and stick with it. 

But occasionally a fabric line or a design will capture my heart and I won’t be able to stop creating until the obsession has run its course. Alexander Henry’s Ghastlie fabric line was a really long obsession for me. I’ve made so many quilts in so many designs from this funny fabric and I still love it. My latest love is the Fulham Road collection in all its colorways.

Here is the second quilt made in the tawny plum color scheme. The best part of this quilt is the movement in the borders:

Image

The latest quilt and the end of my current Alexander Henry quilt-a-thon is called “Celebration”:

Image

I named this quilt pattern “Celebration” because the colors, flowers, stripes and banner are all designed to announce a joyful welcoming. It is a really fun quilt to make because each pennant is made separately and loosely attached to the quilt. They can flutter and flap like a true banner.

I’m officially leaving Fulham Road and going southwest to make a series of Mexican blanket quilts:)

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Still Obsessing Over Alexander Henry’s Fulham Road

  1. quilterliz March 8, 2013 / 11:36 pm

    G’day Jamie. Love the fabrics. I do especially like the top one. Take care. Liz…

  2. Natalia Rodriguez June 14, 2013 / 8:23 pm

    Would you ever sell one? I know this is a weird question! And sorry for asking if the answer is no! Anyway, this is beautiful. Thanks.

    • jhaney June 14, 2013 / 8:56 pm

      Hi Natalia,
      SO glad you like the quilt. I had Kaboom for sale in my Etsy shop for $125.00 but I let a friend pick a quilt for her graduation last month, and she chose it. I can easily make another one for you if you want. I would set up a listing, $125.00 plus $8.00 shipping (if you live in the US). It would take me a few weeks to order the fabric and make it. The other quilt, Celebration, is for sale in the shop, Maryland Quilter

      Thanks so much for your kind interest,
      Jamie

Leave a Reply

